Month of Sam

So I have officially survived the last six months of working 14 hours of overtime each week.  Needless to say I have had no time to do anything other than work, eat, sleep and catch up on all my TV shows.  Although I have greatly enjoyed having the extra money, it was definitely not worth my sanity which I felt I was ever so slowly loosing, along with the size of my waist band.

For the past six months, working in the mornings meant going out for lunch with auntie and the two younger boys.  Unlike Canada, there are no salad options and hardly any vegetarian options at all.  So in true Korean fashion my lunches consisted of large helpings of carbs, carbs, carbs and more carbs with a side of veggies.   At one point, I thought of renaming this blog to “my year of thigh enlargement”.  I ate so many different types of rice and noodles that I would dream of salad at night and wake up craving broccoli.  Don’t get me wrong, I did fully enjoy eating these delicious Korean dishes, but there are only so many noodles one can eat without wanting to kill whoever invented such food. 

But alas, it is March, the third month, and in Korea there are no actual names for the months so the third month is “sam”, plainly meaning “three”.  So it is literally the month of Sam, it is MY month.  I am saying goodbye to those delicious spicy noodles and those little bowls of rice and hello to the gym and I couldn’t be happier! Although I managed to work out about 2 or 3 times a week during the past months, it was not nearly enough to offset the amount rice I consumed. 

On March 2nd, I fitted my shoe with my new Nike plus running partner, signed up for a 10K race in Gyungju and stepped on the scale of doom.  Ok, so not as bad as I thought.  I had only gained about 3lbs, but in my mind it felt like 100lbs.  I just didn’t feel right.  My clothes were tight where they shouldn’t be and I noticed an extra jiggle here and there.  It’s only been 6 days into March and I have clocked a solid 30km on the treadmill, cut out those delicious carbs and started counting down the days until the 10k race. I have never been happier to have time to myself.

Although I am extremely glad to have my Visa paid off by the mass amount of overtime hours I worked, I am tired and worn out and I still have 6 more months to go.  I look forward to the next few months as the weather is getting much warmer and I finally have the time to enjoy it! Yes, I was a little late getting started on my new year’s resolution but it’s not when you start but rather the journey you take to get there.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mom
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 02:22:33

    Sounds like your back to normal now lol… 3 1bs is hardly a big weight gain..but its nice to see you are taking care of yourself ..and the nice weather is coming…I seen a Robin so that means spring is here …btw its different to hear that they name there months and I like the month of Sam ..xo mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

